A night of "senoritas": Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Billie Eilish triumph at MTV VMAs – Showbiz

A night of "senoritas": Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Billie Eilish triumph at MTV VMAs - Showbiz

At the ceremony, one of the highlights was the tribute to Missy Elliott, which was awarded the Video Vanguard Award. "Missy Elliot's impact on the music landscape is undeniable," said Bruce Gillmer, Head of Music and Music Talent, Viacom and Co-Brand Head, MTV International. "His creative vision, from production to acting and composition, is unmatched," he adds.

<picture data-lazy = "true" style = "height: 0; padding-top: 66.52500%;" class = "has-dimensions" original-date-w = "1" original-date-h = "1" original-date-src = "http://thumbs.web.sapo.io/?epic=ZThmjOIO6fCdyD8bF8WNVmppPINr6ZsbUNelcCue5imT6opnyZS6T8PJ9LJjUXjjXjjxjjxjjxjjxjjxjjx + UEjf2PVPZJRfw = & W = 2100 & H = 0 & delay_optim = 1 & crop = center & tv = 1″ title=”Missy Elliott – A Night of "Senoritas": Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Billie Eilish Triumph on MTV VMAs – SAPO Mag "data-caption ="

Missy elliott

"data-title =" Missy Elliott – A Night of "Senorites": Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Billie Eilish Triumph on MTV VMAs – FROG Mag "> <! – Conditionally wrapelements in

Missy Elliott joins the Video Vanguard Award artists including Jennifer Lopez, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake, Madonna, Guns N 'Roses, Britney Spears, Kanye West, Rihanna and P! Nk.

This year, MTV has dedicated a category to Latin music. The theme song "Con Altura" by Rosalía with J Balvin and El Guincho was the big winner, beating the singles "Secret" (Anuel AA & Karol G), "Mia" (Bad Bunny feat. Drake), "I Can ' t Get Enough ”(benny blanco feat. Tainy, Selena Gomez & J Balvin),“ Con Calma ”(Daddy Yankee & Snow) and“ Mala Mía ”(Maluma).

The performances

Big Sean featuring A $ AP Ferg, HER, Normani, Ozuna, Missy Elliott, Taylor Swift, Jonas Brothers, Bad Bunny, Camila Cabello, Fetty Wap, J Balvin, Lil Nas X, Lizzo, Naughty by Nature Queen Latifah, Redman, Rosalia, Shawn Mendes and Wyclef Jean had the mission to animate the night.

The MTV Video Music Awards 2019 ceremony opened with Taylor Swift, who edited last Friday, August 23, the album "Lover". The singer opened the act lying in the "sun", as in the "You Need To Calm Down" music video

Accompanied by several queen drags, on the stage of the VMAs the artist presented for the live turn the theme "Lover"

Soon after, it was Shawn Mendes' turn to take the Prudential Center stage. The young musician presented the theme “If I Can't Have You”.

After Shawn Mendes warmed hearts, Lizzo cheered the crowd that accompanied the ceremony live. The Jonas Brothers, by contrast, performed by surprise in central New Jersey in the first half of MTV VMAs.

Missy Elliott, who was awarded the Video Vanguard Award, also took the stage, stamping one of the night's most celebrated performances. In the VMAs, the artist recalled themes like “Get Ur Freak On”, “Work It” and “Lose Control”.

In the final stretch, Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello presented "Señorita". Miley Cyrus has performed her latest single "Slide Away".

Before the 'goodbye', Spanish singer Rosalía debuted on the MTV VMAs stage – in 2018, the artist had performed at the MTV Europe Music Awards in Bilbao. Accompanied by Ozuna, the young woman won the audience with the themes "Yo x Ti, Tu x Mi", "A Ningún Hombre" and "Aute Cuture".

Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger & Ashlyn Harris, Bebe Rexha, Billy Ray Cyrus, French Montana, Hailee Steinfeld, Ice-T, John Travolta, Jonathan Van Ness, Keke Palmer, Lenny Kravitz, Megan Thee Stallion, PK Subban, Rick Ross, Salt-N-Pepa and Victor Cruz also took the MTV VMA stage to announce the winners and the evening's performances.


Video of the Year

“A Lot” – 21 Savage ft. J Cole
“Thank u, next” – Ariana Grande
Bad guy – Billie Eilish
"Sucker" – Jonas Brothers
“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
“You Need to Calm Down” – Taylor Swift – WINNER

Artist of the Year

Ariana Grande – WINNER
Billie Eilish
Cardi B
Jonas brothers
Shawn Mendes

Song of the Year

“Thank u, next” – Ariana Grande
“In My Feelings” – Drake
"Sucker" – Jonas Brothers
Shallow – Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper
“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus – WINNER
"You Need to Calm Down" – Taylor Swift

Video for good

Halsey – Nightmare
The Killers – Land of the Free
Jamie N Commons, Skylar Gray ft. Gallant – Runaway Train
John Legend – Preach
Lil Dicky – “Earth”
Taylor Swift – "You Need to Calm Down" – WINNER

New artist

Ava Max
Billie Eilish – WINNER
Lil Nas X

Best Collaboration

Boy With Luv – BTS & Halsey
“I Don't Care” – Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber
Shallow – Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper
“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X & Billy Ray Cyrus
“Señorita” – Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – WINNERS
ME! ”- Taylor Swift & Brendon Urie

Push artist

Billie Eilish – WINNER

Best Single Pop

5 Seconds of Summer – “Easier”
Cardi B & Bruno Mars – “Please Me”
Billie Eilish – “Bad Guy”
Khalid – Talk
Ariana Grande – “thank u, next”
Jonas Brothers – “Sucker” – WINNERS
Taylor Swift – "You Need to Calm Down"

Best R&B Single

Raise a Man – Alicia Keys
“Make it Better” – Anderson.Paak feat. Smokey robinson
Feels Like Summer – Chilkdish Gambino
“Trip” – Ella Mai
Cold've Been – H.E.R. feat. Bryson tiller
“Waves” – Normani feat. 6LACK – WINNERS

Best Hip Hop Single
“Rule The World” – 2 Chainz feat. Ariana Grande
“A Lot” – 21 Savage feat. J Cole
“Money” – Cardi B – WINNER
“Higher” – DJ Khaled feat. Nipsey Hussle & John Legend
“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
“Sicko Mode” – Travis Scott feat. Drake

Best Latin Music
“Secret” – Anuel AA & Karol G
"Mia" – Bad Bunny feat. Drake
"I Can't Get Enough" – benny blanco feat. Tainy, Selena Gomez & J Balvin
"Calm Down" – Daddy Yankee & Snow
“Mala Mía” – Maluma
“Con Altura” – Rosalía feat. J Balvin & El Guincho – WINNER

Best K-Pop Single

Kill This Love – BLACKPINK
“Boy With Luv” – BTS ft. Halsey – Winners
“Time” – EXO
“Who Do U Love” – Monsta X ft. French montana
“Regular” – NCT 127
“Cat & Dog” – Tomorrow x Together

Best Single Dance

Call You Mine – The Chainsmokers & Bebe Rexha – WINNERS
“Solo” – Clean Bandit & Demi Lovato
“Say My Name” – David Guetta feat. Bebe Rexha & J Balvin
“Taki Taki” – Dj Snake feat. Selena Gomez, Ozuna & Cardi B
Happier – Marshmello & Bastille
“Electricity” – Silk City feat. Dua Lipa

Source link