Agustina Bessa-Luís dies, advances to TSF – Showbiz

Agustina Bessa-Luís dies, advances to TSF - Showbiz

The writer was born in Vila Meã, Amarante, in 1922, and edited more than 50 titles, including novels, short stories, plays, novellas, travel chronicles, essays and children's books.

Many of his works are translated in different languages ​​and some adapted to the cinema, namely by Manoel de Oliveira.

She was awarded with numerous awards, such as the Eça de Queirós Prize (1954), National Prize for Novelistics (1967), D. Diniz Prize (1981), Grand Prix Romance and Novel (1983 and 2001), Camões Prize (2004).

She was also distinguished with the Order of Santiago de la Espada (1980) and Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, awarded by the French government (1989).

He received three PhDs 'Honoris Causa', from Universidade Lusíada, Universidade do Porto (ex aequo with Eugénio de Andrade) and Tor Vergata, from Rome.

The homage to the academy transmontana Agustina Bessa-Luís started from a challenge launched by the president of the General Council of the university, Silva Peneda.

UTAD has already distinguished with the Doctorate Honoris Causa, Alberto Núñez Feijóo (Regional Board of Galicia), Fernando Santos (national selector), Manoel de Oliveira (filmmaker), Luís Valente de Oliveira (academic and former ruler), Luís Garcia Braga da Cruz (former president of the Commission for Coordination and Regional Development of the North), João Rosas Nicolau de Almeida (oenologist) and the Portuguese Olympic Committee.

Source link