Formula 1 resumes on the first weekend of July with empty stands

Formula 1 resumes on the first weekend of July with empty stands

The organization of the Formula 1 World Championship has just confirmed the start of the 2020 season with eight races, which starts on July 5, at The Red Bull Ring (Austria), a circuit that also hosts the second round at the weekend next, from 10 to 12 July.

"Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, F1 is finalizing the details of the extended calendar and expects to release it in the coming weeks, expecting to have a total of 15-18 races before the end of the season in December", read on the official website of the championship.

It is recalled that due to the pandemic, the International Automobile Federation (FIA) canceled and postponed several Grand Prix, but the teams managed to reach a consensus for a safe start, without spectators on the stands.

The ‘new’ championship, for now integrates eight races, all in Europe, but the organization hopes to have more races by the end of the year. In parallel with Formula 1, the Formula 2 and Formula 3 Worlds will also take place.

2020 season calendar

1st Austria, The Red Bull Ring (3 to 5 July)

2nd Austria, The Red Bull Ring (July 10-12)

3rd Hungary, Hungaroring (17-19 July)

4th England, Silverstone (31 July to 2 August)

5th England, Silverstone (7-9 August)

6th Spain, Barcelona (14-16 August)

7th Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps (28 to 30 August)

8th Italy, Monza (4 to 6 September)


Source link