Mathieu van der Poel wins classic Belgian Dwars door Vlaanderen

Mathieu van der Poel wins classic Belgian Dwars door Vlaanderen

The Dutch road cycling champion and world cycling champion Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) today won the classic Belgian Dwars door Vlaanderen, the third triumph of the season.

Poel, 24, completed the 182.6 kilometers that linked Roeselare to Waregem at 4:05:54 p.m., beating four other cyclists who accompanied him in the final kilometers.

Frenchman Anthony Turgis (Direct-Energie) was second at the same time, followed by Luxembourg's Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick Step), third, with Austrian Lukas Postlberger (BORA-hansgrohe) coming in fourth and Belgian Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal) in the fifth.

The winner of the 2017 and 2018 editions, Belgian Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick Step), was eighth today, failing the goal of becoming the first runner, after 74 editions, to win three times.

For van der Poel, European and world cycling champion, this was a new road triumph, the first year as a senior in which he bets on the discipline, after wins at the Denain Grand Prix and the first leg of the Tour of Antalya.

The former junior road world champion in 2013 and current European runner-up in the specialty had already been fourth in another WorldTour classic in Flanders, Gent Wevelgem, and was now able to claim a spot in the Dwars door Vlaanderen.

The Portuguese Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) was 59th today, cutting the goal to 39 seconds of the winner.

In the women's race, which was now the third edition, the triumph went to another Dutchwoman, Ellen Van Dijk (Trek-Segafredo), in a race in which the Portuguese Daniela Reis (Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport) was 80th, at 2.06 minutes of the winner.

Source link