“Return” program only attracted 71 emigrants, although government promises 6.5 thousand euros in support – Jornal Económico

One month after the opening of the applications, the Return to Portugal Emigrants Return to Portugal program launched by the executive of António Costa totaled 71 applications, despite promising to award up to 6536.40 euros to emigrants returning to Portugal.

This is the latest review of the program which came into force on July 22 and which, with a funding of 10 million euros, led the Government to estimate a potential universe of 1500 beneficiaries in the year 2019, according to the newspaper Público. , this Thursday.

The Ministry of Labor, Solidarity and Social Security states that around “a thousand requests for clarification were received through various means of contact” for this initiative, not undervaluing, for now, the small number of applications submitted.

The Return Program foresees the allocation that can rise up to 6536.40 euros, to be paid by the Institute of Employment and Vocational Training (IEFP). This amount is divided between a “return allowance” (2,614.56 euros, plus 10% for each family member accompanying the applicant), travel costs (up to 1,307 euros), transport of goods (871.52 euros) and 436.76 for the recognition of academic or professional skills.

The initiative also sees a 50% reduction in taxation on labor income, whether for dependent work or for business and professional income, over a five-year period for migrants who decide to return to the country.

Applications for return support can be made on the website of the Institute for Employment and Vocational Training (IEFP). The Government has also launched an online portal where the conditions required for applicants and the terms of the program and the support provided can be consulted. Helplines are also available: 300 088 000 or 965 723 280 (for WhatsApp or Skype). For this program, all emigrants who left Portugal by December 31, 2015 and who start or have started working in the country between January 1, January 2019 and until December 31, 2020, are eligible.

Source link