Russian ship with robot on board repeats ISS approach attempt at dawn – Science

Russian ship with robot on board repeats ISS approach attempt at dawn - Science



The second attempt to "park" the Russian spacecraft is scheduled for 11:12 pm EDT (4:12 am in Lisbon). NASA Television follows the maneuver from 10:00 pm EDT (3:00 am in Lisbon).

On Saturday, the operation was suspended after a problem was detected in the Space Station system that allows automatic coupling. According to Roscosmos, Soyuz has since been on a safe trajectory 300 meters away from the ISS, with orbit reoriented and in standby mode.

To make a new attempt possible, three members of Expedition 60 entered another spacecraft – the Soyuz MS-13 – this Sunday evening to transfer it from the Zvezda module to the Poisk module, leaving the first one available.

The Soyuz MS-14 “took off” last Thursday, August 21, from Baikonur base in Kazakhstan, with Fiodor as the only crew member on board. The mission is a test of the Russian space agency to verify the spacecraft's compatibility with the Soyuz-2.1a carrier rocket with a digital control system, which from spring 2020 is expected to replace the analog-controlled Soyuz-FG in the transport of shipments to the ISS.

In addition, Final Experimental Demonstration Object Research (FEDOR) – which the Russian press calls Fiodor because of its similarity to its local name – is also being tested, notably as a future "pilot" of the new Russian spacecraft Federatsia, which had its launch postponed to 2022 and could become the first android to travel to the moon. "This is precisely our goal. To try out the new technology. To get man out of the danger zone," explained Alexei Bogdanov, who developed the robot. , quoted by the international press.



Source link